Occupational Standards & Competency Domain Areas

Occupational Standards in Disability Management

In 1997 the National Institute of Disability Management and Research (NIDMAR) embarked on a formalized process to articulate the experiences, skills and competencies essential to define a consensus-based, transferable, recognizable and highly professional standard of excellence in return to work (RTW) and disability management (DM) practice for employers, workers and providers. A defined occupational standard development process as set out by Human Resources Development Canada was concluded with the financial support of governments, major employers, workers compensation boards and unions from across Canada and the political leadership of key executives from all stakeholder groups. The process also benefited from the invaluable experience/knowledge contribution of academics, professionals and workplace practitioners from a broad Canadian spectrum as well as Europe, Australia, New Zealand and the United States.

This process culminated in the publication of the document, Occupational Standards in Disability Management (NIDMAR 1999) which has been endorsed for adoption by a cross section of Canada’s largest employers, unions and workers compensation boards.

The process identified two levels of occupations in the field of disability management:

Starting in 2001, the difficult process of creating psychometrically stable and defensible certification examinations based on the Occupational Standards was begun. Supported through government and a broad cross section of leading Canadian employers, unions and workers compensation boards, unified in their quest for excellence / quality assurance in RTW and DM and committed to balanced economic and social outcomes, this highly technical task was performed by one of Canada’s most reputable test development agencies, Assessment Strategies Inc. of Ottawa.

Working with practitioners / professionals from all stakeholder groups and representing all regions of Canada and following an internationally recognized test development protocol, this process has culminated in the finalization of test exams each comprising 300 multiple choice questions. Successfully passing these examinations will lead to obtaining either of the recognized CRTWC or CDMP designations.

Domain Areas

The Occupational Standards identified nine domain areas as core skills and competencies for effective Disability Management practice as listed below:

1. Demonstrate Knowledge of Disability Management Theory and Practice

2. Apply Legislation and Benefit Programs

3. Labour/Management Relations

4. Utilize Communication and Problem-Solving Skills

5. Disability Case Management

6. Return-to-Work Coordination

7. Health, Psycho-social, Prevention, and Functional Aspects of Disability

8. Development of Program Management and Evaluation Activities

9. Demonstrate Ethical and Professional Conduct

Each of these domain areas have listed sub-domains that further describe the core skills and competencies for effective Disability Management practice. Please go to this link for further information.